• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

UTF-8 text and Type1 Fonts

New Here ,
Jun 07, 2011 Jun 07, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In my application I receive UTF-8 encoded text strings.  The text includes Western European, Eastern European, Cyrillic, and Greek characters.  CJK support is not needed.  I then need to display it using a Type 1 font that contains all of the needed glyphs (580+ glyphs).

I would like to be able to use the show, stringwidth, ... operators with the UTF-8 encoded text.

Is there a way to build a UTF-8 compatible font using a Type 1 font as its base font.  composefont? Other method?

I would greatly appreciate it you would point me to some concrete examples of how to do this.  I am pretty new to UTF-8 and CIDFont/CMap/composefont stuff.

Thanks for your help,

Lee

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Jun 08, 2011 Jun 08, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Lee,

You can only encode about 256 glyphs in a Type 1 font (the font can have more glyphs but AFAIK they won't be encoded), so your options are mostly limited to using a TrueType font or an OpenType font.

You can use the Adobe Font Development Kit for OpenType (a.k.a. FDK) to make OpenType fonts using Type 1 fonts as source data. There's a link to an example font at the bottom of the page.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Miguel,

I will back up a little more in my development process...