• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

A little bait and switch on student renewal pricing

New Here ,
Apr 20, 2020 Apr 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’ve been a Creative Cloud Student customer for just over two years now. Until a few days ago, the price on my account on your website for my upcoming one year renewal was $179.45 per year. (I’ve enclosed a screenshot below to confirm this.) The price was an odd number, and lower than I’d paid in the past, so I texted with one of your online service reps to doubly confirm this. Of course, I was unable to get you guys directly on the phone; I waited over 90 minutes and gave up. For the record, I've also copied screenshots of my text chat below. After my text with your rep (or bot?) I was confident that $179.45 would be the price I’d pay to renew. If you read the support chat, you'll see why.

Then today, as the date of my renewal was fast approaching, I again checked the website and now the price to renew on my account was over $350. No explanation was given as to why this change to the renewal price was made. Naturally, I felt that I’d had a little bait and switch.

I’ll just say (charitably) that Adobe doesn’t have the best reputation when it comes to customer service, but even this is a new low. Prices change dramatically with little or no explanation, and getting any kind of customer support is nearly impossible. And the customer support that I *did* get was absolutely incorrect. If I hadn’t gone onto the website myself today to check, my account would have auto-renewed at more than double the price that I had expected.