• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Software Should Be FREE for Students

New Here ,
Mar 18, 2021 Mar 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am writing to give my own piece of mind on this. Since I am a student myself and have now canceled my  subscription due to these exorbitant prices, I want to speak out on the subject of software being free for students.

First off, Autodesk and Maxon, giant creative software companies, allow students to use all of their software for free, with no restrictions put in place within the software. When I found this out it baffled me that Adobe would charge students these absurd prices, (It's $240 a year at first, but then very soon it becomes... $380--hence why I canceled my subscription. 240 was already a lot, but 380... catch me later). 

So you can get a number of professional softwares for various fields of work such as Maya, 3DS MAX, AutoCAD and Cinema 4D. As well as powerful renderers and addons such as Redshift and Arnold. Did I also mention that since Maxon acquired Red Giant, you now get all of Red Giant's suites for free as a student? 

So there is only one noteworthy software giant left that has yet to allow for creativity of young people to flourish, that is... ta-da! Adobe! And you wonder why so many students will pirate Adobe's softwares... If Adobe would just do what Autodesk and Maxon do (that is, allow students to use their software for free), maybe students wouldn't have to risk the potential side effects of piracy: malware and viruses. 

Adobe's software is already expensive as it currently is, but I'd be crazy to say that's the only thing that has a high price. The third party plug-ins for adobe's softwares have prices that go sky-high, especially for After Effects. Examples include suites from widely-known Boris FX, namely Sapphire and Continuum, and lesser-known add-ons such as Plexus and Stardust.