• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shallow Subscription Plans

New Here ,
Dec 29, 2019 Dec 29, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been a long time Adobe Photoshop user (since Photoshop 4), and I'm glad that there is a subscription plan that allows me to use all or some of the entire Adobe Suite withouth spending hundreds or thousands of dollars every time there is a new version. I also enjoy the fact that I can have a Photography Plan (current plan) that saves me some money since I don't use the majority of what Adobe has available.

However, I feel that the pricing plans don't go very far or at least don't seem to fit my needs. I have sort of a strange background in that I've been a web developer for over 20 years and I currently run my own photography business. I was an AS3 developer for a long time and even before that, I was pleased that Macromedia was bought by Adobe. There are features in Fireworks I wish Adobe had kept, but that's a different conversation. The point is that while I don't need every Adobe program, there are programs I need that the Photography plan does not cover.

First of all, I do not care for Lightroom. I know a lot of people do, and I would love to learn it. But, since there are two versions for reasons passing understanding, I'm always confused on which one to use. I tried working my way through it, creating adjustments on one photo and then applying them to a select group of photos like I would do in Adobe Bridge. Apparently, that's only allowed in the OTHER version of Lightroom. So, yeah, I abandoned that waste of time in a hurry.

The other problem is that I do design things from time to time and so I would love to have access to Illustrator. Again, I'd have to learn it (I used to use Flash for vector graphic design if only because it was a known quantity), but it's not available through the Photography plan. I don't want to spend all of that extra money just for ONE program!