Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Assistance with Dynamic Dropdown Fields

New Here ,
Apr 29, 2021 Apr 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Adobe Community,

I am a total noob when it comes to Javascript I am trying to create a nice document for our team using Acrobat DC and can't figure this thing out at all I have read about 15 documents and seen people request money for Tooling and Assitance although, I uderstand the why I want to try and somewhat do this on my own but could use a bit of guidance on how to put it all together especially when dealing with an uknown langauage.

This Document is to keep track of Hardware. I currently have Four Dropdown Fields:

• Description
  • Model
  • Serial Number
  • Cost

I have listed, every Option for each drop down manually but really want it to Autopopuate the selctions accross the board when a Description option is selected for example.

If I select "Dell Windows Laptops" from Decription, I would only like to see a small list of Dell Laptops models, then selecting the model will give me the serial numbers, and then finally the cost of the item.

So far from everything I have read I stared litely and started to test and try and understand I found a bit of code from another Community Entry and I listed it as followed in the Description Dropdown under Actions I selected "Commit Selected Value" and the Action to run a script and this script reads as followed, please keep in mind I have no idea what I am doing and all of these selection dropdowns are pretty big. Once I understand the proper syntax and see it all working I will fill in the blanks.

switch (event.value) {

case "Dell Windows Laptop": 

this.getField("Model").setItems(["Latidue 5400","Latitude 5410","Latitude 5420","Percision 3551","Percision 3541"]); 

break; 

}

But when selecting Preview then selecting "Dell Windows Labtops" the Model dropdown stilll shows all the Options and not the ones only on the script.