Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cannot install Acrobat Reader with Acrobat Pro

Community Expert ,
Feb 10, 2022 Feb 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

To remove some bugs in Acrobat Pro I followed the Adobe procedure: uninstall Acrobat and then use the AcroCleaner.
It took me several hours but it didn't fix any of the concerned bugs.

When I reinstalled Acrobat Pro (64 bits) I got a message telling me that Acrobat Reader (32 bits) would be uninstalled, which was done.

The problem is that now I can't reinstall Acrobat Reader, each time the installation ends on this truncated and incomplete message (attached) which seems to say that Acrobat Reader is already installed.

It says : "Old/new version of Acrobat already in........"

What can I do?

I'm a developer of PDF forms and I absolutely need to have Acrobat Reader to test them.

Thank you for your help.

Capture_136.png

TOPICS
Crash or freeze , General troubleshooting , Install update and subscribe to Acrobat , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 11, 2022 Feb 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi JR Boulay

Hope you are doing well and sorry to hear that.

The 64-bit application is a unified application for Acrobat DC and Acrobat Reader DC.  If you have installed Acrobat Reader DC 64-bit and you purchase an Acrobat DC subscription, the Acrobat Reader DC 64-bit application will upgrade to become a fully functional Acrobat DC 64-bit application.

To stop the Acrobat Reader DC 32-bit application from automatically upgrading to the 64-bit version, create the following registry key before the first launch of the application as described in the help page https://helpx.adobe.com/acrobat/kb/about-acrobat-reader-dc-migration-to-64-bit.html

Hope this information will help

Regards

Amal

Votes