Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Extract Field Values from External Source

Community Beginner ,
Nov 13, 2023 Nov 13, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I created a form. Two of the fields are Name and Number. Name and Number are related - the number assigned to a name never changes. It is two ways of identifying an indivdual and it is standard to use both identifiers when referring to an individual.

I would like the field for Number to populate based on the value entered in Name, or have it work the other way - if you enter Number then Name populates. In the event that Name is mispelled, or Number entered incorrectly, then no automatic population occurs.

The set of individuals changes constantly. There is a spreadsheet that is published daily but it would get tricky coding a link to the file as the networked location and name change with the date. We also maintain an Access database that could possibly be tapped for the data, but I am no database expert.

I'm thinking what I want to do isn't feasible just to save some keying in. Anyone have a good idea?

Thanks

david 

TOPICS
JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can access it using a custom-made script, if it's a plain-text file. If the name of the file is predictable (even if it changes daily) that should still work. However, this will require installing a script file on the local machine of each user who will access this file.

This is not a trivial scripting task, though. If you're interested in hiring a professional to create it for you, feel free to contact me privately by clicking my user-name and then on "Send a Message".

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines