• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help overriding cell but option to retain original formula

New Here ,
Jun 30, 2022 Jun 30, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We have an estimate form our PM's use when creating a budget for a project.  The contingency and labor cells are calculated using a formula, but sometimes they want the ability to override the cells to get to a certain total (i.e. department has a total budget of $15K). The cells highlighted are the ones I need override capabilities. (For the % cells, I took the advice on here and if a 0% is entered, the text goes white, so it looks like the cell is blank). 

Cathy25079790wsbz_0-1656614591692.png

I have no JavaScript experience, so I'm having some trouble adapting some of the previous recommodations to my situation.

Original formulas for these cells were in the "calculated" tab under "Simplified field notation" box. First line is for the Contingency Amount (cell is called ContingencyAmountEst1) and second line is for PM Amount (cell called PMAmountEst1) :

Subtotal_Est1*Contingency1

and

(Subtotal_Est_1+ContingencyAmountEst1)*PMLaborPercent1

On one of the responses, it was suggested to create a check box to toggle the feature on/off. I created one and under the "Actions" tab, I have the check box JavaScript as (hoping one check box can override both cells - checkbox is called ReadOnly1) :

if (event.target.value == "Off") {this.getField("ContingencyAmountEst1").readonly = true ;} else {this.getField("ContingencyAmountEst1").readonly = false ;};

if (event.target.value == "Off") {this.getField("PMAmountEst1").readonly = true ;} else {this.getField("PMAmountEst1").readonly = false ;}

For the ContingencyAmountEst1, I altered the formula to this JavaScript. I still have this under the "Calculate" tab, "simplified notation" box.

if (this.getField("ReadOnly1").value == "off") {// Subtotal_Est_1*Contingency1}

For the PMAmountEst1, I did something similar.