Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Hide/show checkbox based on another checkbox

New Here ,
Nov 19, 2021 Nov 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am very new to Adobe, and currently creating a fillable form for intern work.

Is there a way to hide/show a checkbox based on whether or not another checkbox is checked/unchecked?

I want "box2" to show only if "box1" is checked. If "box1" is unchecked, "box2" should be hidden.

I've been looking around the forum and elsewhere, but can't really seem to find a solution. 

Additional info: "box1" is "pre-checked", so that when colleagues open the file, "box1" will already be checked (they're supposed to uncheck boxes themselves). So when they remove the check / uncheck "box1", "box2" will become hidden. 

TOPICS
Create PDFs , Edit and convert PDFs , How to , JavaScript , PDF forms , Rich media and 3D

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 22, 2021 Nov 22, 2021

You can use this code as Mouse UP event of CheckBox1:

this.getField("CheckBox2").display = event.target.value == "Off" ? display.hidden : display.visible;

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Nov 19, 2021 Nov 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Let's say you have a checkbox named CheckBox1 and another one named CheckBox2, and you want to hide CheckBox2. The following script, when used as a "MouseUp" action for CheckBox1 will do this:

if (event.target.value == "Yes") {
    this.getField("CheckBox2").display = display.visible;
}
else {
    this.getField("CheckBox2").display = display.hidden;
}

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,