Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to make a 4000 page pdf quick to search

Community Expert ,
Jul 25, 2022 Jul 25, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm a novice with Acrobat and I'm finding conflicting information on how best to make a 4000 page pdf quick to search.

Can someone please suggest the best workflow to do this?

Best regards, Euan.
TOPICS
Create PDFs , Edit and convert PDFs , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Jul 25, 2022 Jul 25, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Euan

Hope you are doing well and sorry for the trouble.

You can reduce the time required to search a long PDF by embedding an index of the words in the document. Acrobat can search the index much faster than it can search the document. The embedded index is included in distributed or shared copies of the PDF. Users search PDFs with embedded indexes exactly as they search those without embedded indexes; no extra steps are required.

For more information, please go through the help page https://helpx.adobe.com/acrobat/using/creating-pdf-indexes.html and see if that works for you.

Regards

Amal

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 26, 2022 Jul 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi @Amal. 

Thank you for the prompt reply and your suggestion.

I had found this page previously and followed the instructions there.

However there is an information box:

Screenshot 2022-07-26 at 09-45-02 Creating PDF indexes.png

which suggests that doing this will not be of help.

I created two verions of the 4000 page doc. One with an embedded index as per the helpx doc and one without an embedded index.