Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to set an app alert for a hidden field when its become visible

Participant ,
Jun 04, 2021 Jun 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello All,
I am a complete novice with Java and have gotten as far as I have with copying script from various posts on the community.  I have a form for salesmen and I am adding individual alerts for any required fields which are not filled in.  Each field will have its own alert and not a generic one, (a lot of hand holding is required for them to fill out the forms correctly).  The script below is on a submit button and works fine until I get to the last else if statement.  At this statement I require the dropdown box to have a selection other than its default for the form to be submitted (as with the previous staements).  Once the first option (Named 'Stock') in the order-stock1 dropdown, has been selected 4 hidden fields appear.  I require the first field to be filled in (the other 3 are optional).  Likewise when the second option (Named 'Order') is selected the 'Stock' fields become hidden and 4 different fields become visible again the first of which is required and the other 3 are optional.  (Just to clarify if stock is selected, orders are hidden and visa versa) How can I adapt my code to make this work please?

if (this.getField("salesman").valueAsString==this.getField("salesman").defaultValue) {
app.alert("You must select a Sales Person.");

} else if (this.getField("dealdate").value=="") {
app.alert("You must select todays date.");

} else if (this.getField("customerdetails").valueAsString==this.getField("customerdetails").defaultValue) {
app.alert("You must select a customer type.");

} else if (this.getField("financeyn").valueAsString==this.getField("financeyn").defaultValue) {
app.alert("You must select if Finance is required.");

} else if (this.getField("date&send").valueAsString==this.getField("date&send").defaultValue) {