• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Inserted pages into existing form, now java references to fields on new pages won't work

Community Beginner ,
Apr 25, 2022 Apr 25, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have an existing interactive form that I built on Acrobat DC. It was originally 23 pages and had several custom javascript calculations and hidden/visible fields based off of checkboxes or radio buttons. I'm new to javascript, but after a lot of reading, I had this working really well. However, I needed to add 3 new pages to the document to accomodate some company paperwork changes. I added these 3 pre-built pages right before the last page of the document using the "organize pages" tool. They are not spawned pages. Now, when I try to reference fields on these new pages via javascript it's as if they do not exist. I don't get error messages, but nothing happens either. Additionally, the one pre-existing last page, which follows the new pages, is also behaving badly. Any pre-existing references to the fields on that page work fine, but any new references are acting as if it doesn't exist either. These aren't complex scripts, and I've looked at them a millions times to verify accuracy of naming, etc. For example my validation script on a dropdown on a pre-existing page is this:

if (event.value == "Y")
{
this.getField("cprent").value = "Yes";
this.getField("cpet").value = "Yes";
this.getField("prent").display = display.visible;
this.getField("p_prent").display = display.visible;
}
else
{
this.resetForm("cprent");
this.resetForm("cpet");
this.resetForm("prent");
this.getField("prent").display = display.hidden;
this.getField("p_prent").display = display.hidden;
}