• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

iPad Acrobat+Acrobat Desktop+InDesign workflow

Community Beginner ,
Jan 18, 2022 Jan 18, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I work as an editor and copyeditor. Therefore, I have to make large books revisions that will later go to the hands of a graphic designer that has to introduce them on InDesign. It appears that Adobe hasn't imagined at all a workflow that could be really useful for proffessionals as myself. If someone has figured out how to do this, your insights would be really appreciated.

I use an iPad Pro + Pencil + PDF Expert to mark my pages. The bigger iPad screen, plus the precision of the pencil, alouds me to work almost as I did on paper, using correction marks, handwritten annotations, and all kind of visual marks requiered (such as "lower the picture" or just circling something. By doing this by hand, the process is more intuitive and way faster than on the computer, on many levels (posture, interface, etc.). So far, what I have done is using PDF more or less the same way I would use a paper sheet. But, considering the power of Acrobat to send changes to InDesign that can be simply applied by the designer, I would like to have the best of both worls: handwritten marks combined with direct changes on the text. The marks would address graphic problems, and the text changes would address all the rest. 

Note: I hate using the "notes" feature, because it makes tiny little, pale notes that can be missed on the revision process. 

But, with Adobe products, I have found these problems:

1. The iOS app doesn't have a basic feature: palm rejection. Therefore, it can be a nightmare to use when annotating extensively a text. Something as easy as alternating the pencil with the finger makes the document way more easy to navigate, instead of the problem that it will create random lines when I was simply trying to scroll down.