Javascript to force up to three fields to add up to 100%

Explorer ,
Jun 27, 2022 Jun 27, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks in advance for reading.

My form user must fill 1, 1&2, or 1&2&3 dropdown fields with percentages that add up to 100%. Fields are titled "Distribution 1", "Distribution 2" and "Distribution 3". Each dropdown contains "Distribution" and 1%-100%". 

I'd appreciate a proper javascript that will perform this validation (I am new to java and my scripts have been clumsy so far). * If it will not work with dropdowns, it is fine to use simple text fields. But I'd appreciate if "Distribution" can remain as an item list option in each field.

Screen Shot 2022-06-27 at 4.02.04 PM.png

TOPICS
JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jun 27, 2022 Jun 27, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Would you mind to be more specific about what exactly you need the script to when a  user selects "distribution" from any of the dropdowns or a percentage?

Are you trying to calculate something when you say validate?

It will be  easier to assist if you can share an example of the script that you're working on.

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Jun 28, 2022 Jun 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When should this validation take place? What should happen if the total is not 100%?

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am interested in best-practices advice as well. If anyone has cleaner UI recommendations, I'd love to hear it!