Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Reference error: document is not defined

Community Beginner ,
Mar 14, 2022 Mar 14, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All

I'm a novice with javascript so would be very grateful for some help. I'm attempting to make new versions of some existing PDF forms so that they contain simple scripts to check things like fields not null and dates make sense, but I'm falling at the first hurdle in that I can't seem to refer to fields I've created within the pdf in javascript.

Whether I use this.getfield or document.getelementbyID I always get the error message "Reference error: document is not defined". I've tried searching the net for this error message in the context of PDFs but am drawing a total blank. I'd be very grateful if somebody can help please.

TOPICS
JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Mar 14, 2022 Mar 14, 2022

It's very important to know that Acrobat JS is:

1. Not the same as web-based JS,

2. Case sensitive.

So document.getelementbyID fails to work because of #1, and this.getfield fails because of #2.

The latter should work, but you have to use it correctly, which is: this.getField("FieldName")

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Mar 14, 2022 Mar 14, 2022

Glad to hear it. In the future, if you have such issues and want help, you really need to post the full code, as well as the exact text of the error message you're getting, or share the actual file with us.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's very important to know that Acrobat JS is:

1. Not the same as web-based JS,

2. Case sensitive.

So document.getelementbyID fails to work because of #1, and this.getfield fails because of #2.