• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Unwanted execution of Javascript function with forms on different pages

Community Expert ,
May 12, 2022 May 12, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, I'm using Acrobat DC Pro 2022.001.20112 and this is my first time doing any javascript in Acrobat although I'm otherwise comfortable with ExtendScript from other Adobe apps. I'll explain my set up first and then explain my problem.

I've set up a document with 2 pages and some form elements on each page. Page 1 has a few Checkboxes with no calculations. Page 2 has a bunch of text fields that each have a javascript calculation that calls a document-level javascript function to do a simple calculation. The function itself works fine, but I'll post it here just in case it has a bearing on my problem:

function getBudgetCostDifference() {
    console.println(event.target.name);
    var index = Number(event.target.name.split('.')[1]),
        val1 = Number(this.getField('budget.' + index).value),
        val2 = Number(this.getField('cost.' + index).value),
        result = 0;

if (val1 === val1 && val2 === val2)
        result = val1 - val2;

event.value = result;
    console.println('  done!');
}

So there are about 20 fields on page 2 that have the following calculation:

getBudgetCostDifference();

This set up works perfectly and the calculations work fine... except:

When I click a checkbox on page 1 the form on page 2 is re-calculated. Every time. Even though nothing is happening to the form on page 2 I see the console output from the above function. The field names are totally different: checkbox.1 checkbox.2 etc. on page 1 and budget.1 cost.1 difference.1 etc. on page 2.

So anyone know what's going on here? Is this normal behaviour? If the forms are treated as a single form, can I logically separate them? My ideal aim is for the javascript function to only be executed when the form fields values it refers to are modified.