Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Backing up iPad to desktop

Community Beginner ,
Jan 09, 2017 Jan 09, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there.

Please could you update the iOS app to be able to backup folders that are layered with subfolders. I followed your tutorial on how to do it using iTunes but it would not copy the folders that had subfolders in them. The app itself doesn't even allow to upload folders onto a cloud account such as Dropbox. Please can you sort this out. I have been using this app for all my lectures for 2 years at university and really need to back up my information! Your help will be greatly appreciated,

TOPICS
iOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Adobe Employee ,
Jan 14, 2017 Jan 14, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi garths11135488​,

Thank you for letting us know about what you found.

I also investigated the problem (of failing to back up folders containing files and subfolders) with Apple's iTunes (desktop app).

I used iTunes for Windows 15.2.4 on Windows 10 and iTunes for Mac 15.2.4 on macOS Sierra (10.12.2).  iTunes 15.2.4 is the latest version as of this writing (January 14, 2017).

Here are my findings.

Apple's iTunes for Windows has a defect where drag & dropping folders from the Adobe Acrobat Documents area in iTunes to any location (including Desktop) on a Windows computer does not copy the folders.  It fails silently and does not show an error dialog.  (I tried with an administrator account and "Standard user" account on Windows 10 and got the same result.)

Drag & dropping files still works with iTunes for Windows.

This is a defect in iTunes for Windows only.  iTunes for Mac does not have any problems with backing up folders by drag & drop.