• English
      • Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers

Can you use the Acrobat SDK/Javascript without the Adobe Acrobat Product?

New Here ,
Aug 25, 2022 Aug 25, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a developer and work with a documentation team that generates PDFs and then a set of PDX/idx files to seach all the documents.  I see there seems to be a way to rebuild the index (idx) from the javascript console/SDK.  Is the SDK portable to the point where I can call/use this on a remote build server without a licensed version of Adobe Acrobat or does use of the SDK/Javascript console require a licensed version of the Acrobat desktop application?

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The JavaScript model is specifically for Acrobat. The Acrobat license does not allow it to be used on a server.

However, I'm pretty sure that the stand-alone Adobe PDF SDK, which can be used on a server, also implements the non-UI parts of the JS model. You can purchase a license for this tool through DataLogic

That said, the Acrobat JS model provides a way to build catalog files because it's a feature of Acrobat. I don't think this is a general part of the PDF SDK.  Although Datalogics or some other third party developer may provide a tool for doing this. I think you would be better served by looking in that direction.  

Just a note, I don't use idx files so I'm not up to date on the status of this technology, but I'm not sure they are still in use.

Thom Parker - Software Developer at PDFScripting
Use the Acrobat JavaScript Reference early and often

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines