• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Discrepancy between Adobe Extract PDF and the PDF content

New Here ,
Oct 18, 2022 Oct 18, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a newbie in PDF and I would appreciate having  more explanation about how the Adobe SDK API works through the Adobe sample  extractPDF using the class ExtractTextInfoFromPDF.java.

I have a source PDF that contains this definition:

7 0 obj
<<
/Type /Font
/Subtype /Type1
/BaseFont /Helvetica
/Encoding /WinAnsiEncoding
>>
endobj

Including the following text sequence:

BT
3 Tr
0.00 Tc
/F3 10.5 Tf
1 0 0 1 302.16 776.64 Tm
<i,/ILLENEUVE > Tj
ET

And when I run the extractPDF sample via the Adobe API to get the TEXT info, I get this:

"Font": {
				"alt_family_name": "* Titlingmes New Roman",
				"embedded": true,
				"encoding": "Identity-H",
				"family_name": "* Titlingmes New Roman",
				"font_type": "CIDFontType0",
				"italic": false,
				"monospaced": false,
				"name": "*Times New Roman-Bold-3921",
				"subset": false,
				"weight": 700
			},
			"HasClip": false,
			"Lang": "fr",
			"Page": 0,
			"Path": "//Document/Sect/P",
			"Text": "VILLENEUVE ",
			"TextSize": 10.0

As you can see, the API has correctly translated "i,/" (3 characters, unless '/' in this sequence has a special meaning) into the "V"  character ?

The PDF  has been generated using a CANON scanner with OCR/Tagging as the search capabilty is available ont this document, except when searching for "VILLENEUVE".

It must be noted that when opening the PDF for display, the "V" letter  is not clearly displayed ...

Can someone explain me the mystery  (TEXT correctly extracted using the Adobe ExtractPDF API) ?

Thanks, Eric

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Oct 21, 2022 Oct 21, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied