• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I use a dropdown menu item selection to change another field value?

Community Beginner ,
Sep 27, 2016 Sep 27, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys! I'm working for a Medical Care Center and I have to create a PDF file which has to contain some form fields. I've managed to create most of these fields but I got stuck at a dropdown menu. The dropdown menu contains the names of 83 employees. Each employee has a unique 6 numbers code. I'd like these code to automatically appear in another field based on the selection a make in the drop down menu field. Is there a way to do this without scripts? I'm not a programmer and have no programming abilities. I’m working in Adobe Acrobat Pro DC!

Forms.jpg

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 27, 2016 Sep 27, 2016

You can do it using a very simple script.

Basically what you need to do is set the export value of each item in your drop-down to the code corresponding to that person and then use this code as the custom calculation script of the text field (replace "Employee" in the code with the actual field name, of course):

event.value = this.getField("Employee").valueAsString;

PS. You should also enable the option to commit the selected value immediately in the drop-down field. You'll find it under the field'

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can do it using a very simple script.