• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to get PDF to auto generate new number every time it is opened as long as the field is blank

New Here ,
May 22, 2019 May 22, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am brand new to JavaScripts. I have never done one before. I am familiar with VB in excel and modifying macro's but that is about it.

I have a PDF document that I need a new number generated every time the document is opened as long as the field is blank.

I have this script but have no idea if it is correct or if I am missing something:

if (this.getField("IA-").value == this.getField("IA-").defaultValue) {

this.getField("IA-").value = util.printf("%06d", Math.floor((Math.random() * 1000000) + 1));

}

I want the number to generate IA-001 or IA-002 etc etc in a certain area of the document

I have opened Document JavaScripts and pasted the above as a new script but that doesn't seem to do anything. A screen shot of what I have to do or some assistance with the document would be much appreciated.

Thank you very much!

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 22, 2019 May 22, 2019

People use random numbers because having numbers that start at 1 and go up can be difficult or impossible. You have to keep count, somewhere. That's the hard part.

If you keep it in the file, then two copies of the file will have the same series of numbers (you get duplicates).

If you keep it in the file, and the file is NOT SAVED, it just uses the same number again.

If you want to keep it somewhere else there is a world of pain.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied