• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Acrobat Pro 2017 Console / Debugger HELP!

Explorer ,
Jan 30, 2019 Jan 30, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

I am embarrassed to ask this question because I am self taught on JS and using the console for error debugging  - and I taught myself on Pro 9 -  however overnight,  my office has upgraded me to Pro 2017 and now I find the the console / debugger completely useless.  Instead of telling me which field has the issue, I now only see:

TypeError:  this.getField(..) is null

1:Field:Calculate

In the button I hit (which was a reset button) I have dozens of fields that are set to do certain things on reset - it used to say for example:

this.getField("HolderOne") is null

so I knew exactly where the issue was.  I kind of use it throughout the document and to test each execution as I create it.  I don't really work in the document level script, I use the properties to add my script in.

Could anyone possibly suggest how I can use this kind of error message to actually find my problem?  Do I have a setting wrong?  I lot of the time I am having a stab in the dark at getting a calculation script or something like that working and this was the only way I could get myself on the right track - by interpreting what was spat out on the console.

I have searched and searched all day all over the the net to try and find anything, but I can't see anything at all...

Please help if you can!!

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Unfortunately, this is indeed a serious issue with the functionality of Acrobat DC, especially for developers.