• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Acrobat DC | Future of Portfolios and Response Files | AD of Adobe Flash Player

New Here ,
Nov 19, 2019 Nov 19, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am an adobe acrobat developer and enthusiast for just about anything that relates to interactive and dynamic pdf forms. I had a serious workflow question for Adobe Acrobat DC.

What is the future of Adobe Acrobat Response files after Acrobat Flash Player is discontinued in late 2020?

Will acrobat portfolios and response files still be supported after the discontinuation of Adobe Flash Player? I understand portfolios and response files rely on the flash player engine and its components to function as intended. I cannot find any documentation as to how or if this function will be affected. If so, I would love to know as soon as possible to prep my organization for alternative soltions.

Thank you for your time.

Bryan

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Nov 19, 2019 Nov 19, 2019

What's Flash? (ha ha)

Only Adobe can answer this, and I doubt they will until the deadline hits the fan 😉 And maybe not even then. 

However, the form distribution response file does not depend on Flash or Portfolios. Portfolios are based on a previous technology called collections. This is the important bit and it does not rely on Flash. Flash is just a bit of flash (for display purposes only) on top of the collection, which does all the real work behind the response file. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
New Here , Nov 21, 2019 Nov 21, 2019

Thanks Thom for responding!