• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

getField updating AFTER validation

New Here ,
May 14, 2019 May 14, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm just starting out trying to get my head wrapped around acrobat javascript to try and automate some things, and thought I should try and so some simple tests.

So, I have the following function.

function Alert () {

console.println(doc.getField("PC").value);

}

And in the Validate tab for the "PC" field, I have set

"Run a custom validation script:"

Alert()

Yet when I look in the console, the value it prints is the value BEFORE I make a change. For example, if the value in the PC box is "Bob" and I change it "Alice", then it will print "Bob" instead of "Alice".

How can I get the new value for the field in the validate script?

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 14, 2019 May 14, 2019

The custom format script is the last to run. It doesn't have to be used to change the appearance of the field, it can do anything that you need it to do and runs after the validation script (if any) and after the field value is committed. I use it to do all sorts of stuff that has nothing to do with field formatting.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use event.value instead of this.getField("...").value .

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there no more universal way to get this value. I am attempting to build a document model stored in global

(function () {

global.model = new Object();