• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I populate a text field based on a selection in a drop down field?

Community Beginner ,
Dec 10, 2018 Dec 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Field 1 is Acct #

Field 2 Sold To (this is the clients name based on the account # selected in field 1)

Filed 2 Ship To (this is the clients address based on the account # selected in field 1)

It is my understanding that I shoud run a javascript. However, I am VERY new to this and am unsure of how/what code to write.

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 11, 2018 Dec 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Since there are 3 fields to populate from a single dropdown selection, the field data will need to be stored in an object. 

Like this: (this code can be placed in a document level script)

var aFldData = {"AA":{Acct:"acount AA number", "SoldTo":"AA sold to", "ShipTo":"AA Ship To"},

"BB":{Acct:"acount BB number", "SoldTo":"BB sold to", "ShipTo":"BB Ship To"},

.... etc ...

}

"AA" and "BB" are the entries in the dropdown. Use this code in the Custom Keystroke event for the dropdown

if(!event.willCommit)

{

this.getFeild("Field1").value = aFldData[event.change].Acct;

this.getFeild("Field2Sold").value = aFldData[event.change].SoldTo;

this.getFeild("Field2Ship").value = aFldData[event.change].ShipTo;

}

You'll need to change the field names so the ones on your form match the ones in the script.

You can learn more about lists here:

https://www.pdfscripting.com/public/List-Field-Usage-and-Handling.cfm

Thom Parker - Software Developer at PDFScripting
Use the Acrobat JavaScript Reference early and often

Votes

Translate