• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to change a javascript for websites into a javascript that works in acrobat?

Explorer ,
Feb 13, 2018 Feb 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everybody,

I have attached a script that I would like to integrate into a PDF. The PDF has a textfield (called: input) to which I want to assign this script. Can anyone help me to embed this script? It works flawlessly via the browser. How can I use this script for websites in Acrobat? I have no experience with javascript in Acrobat, only a little using javascript in websites.

Thank you very much

Here is my script I want to include:

https://www.w3schools.com/howto/howto_js_autocomplete.asp

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 13, 2018 Feb 13, 2018

Yeah - I saw that when I looked again. I saw the PHP reference and thought it was happening on the server. How familiar are you with JavaScript. If you are familiar, look at the setItems method for a combo box field. Just filter the array by the value of the field after reach keystroke event.

Acrobat DC SDK Documentation 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The functionality is certainly possible in Acrobat javascript. However, the script you reference is essentially useless for Acrobat though. The object and event models are completely different and you'll need to recreate the functionality from scratch. The only major question I have is this... do you need the array of countries to be read from a server, as in your example, or can they be embedded in the JavaScript code?

Votes

Translate

Translate