• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to I use a radio button to populate a dropdown selection?

New Here ,
May 16, 2019 May 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am very new to Javascripting.  I need to have a dropdown value be automatically selected when a radio button is selected.  Is this possible?  I haven't seen much on these forums about this and I don't know where to start.

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, it is.  Any field value is set by, ready for it, setting the value. So all you need to do is set the dropdown value when the radio button changes.

Do this with a calculation script on the dropdown.

Method 1 (radio button export is different from dropdown items)

var cRadValue = this.getField("RadioButton").value;

if(cRadValue == "Choice1")

event.value = "Something1";

else if(cRadValue == "Choice2")

event.value = "Something2";

else

event.value = "Unselected Optin";

But if you want to get clever, name the radio button export values the same as the Dropdown Export values.

Then this script will work.

event.value = this.getField("RadioButton").value;

Thom Parker - Software Developer at PDFScripting
Use the Acrobat JavaScript Reference early and often

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I appreciate your quick response!