• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Javascript help for unique document ID field

Community Beginner ,
Jun 23, 2020 Jun 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am very new to creating Adobe Forms and also very new to Javascript. I've been tasked at work to create a form with fillable fields that can be submitted whenever someone needs to request a new project from my department. Easily done.

The catch is that they also wanted 1) the ability to add attachments to each submission (Solved), and 2) the ability to create a unique document ID each time a submission comes in. #2 is where I'm stuck!

I did some digging through the forums and found some different javascript codes that did the trick. After experimenting, I found that the yyyymmddHHMM format works perfectly for assigning document IDs. I set the script to assign a number when the Form is opened. Everything workedgreat! ...until I "Distribute" the Form and publish it.

In short, even though I clear the fields and save the document, the Form "opens" anew and assigns a document ID in the text field when I hit Distribute to publish the Form, which makes the document ID static/permanent for anyone using that distributed form.

Any ideas on how to work around this issue?

Here is the code I tried using (not sure what most of this actually means):

function DocID()
{
}

var f = this.getField("DocID");
if (f.valueAsString=="") f.value = util.printd("yyyymmddHHMM", new Date());

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jun 25, 2020 Jun 25, 2020