• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

JavaScript - Searching PDF and displaying an output for a Text Field

Community Beginner ,
Jun 27, 2020 Jun 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I was wondering if anyone could help me with a script for a text field. I'm new to javascript so it's somewhat is a challenge to me. I was wondering if there is a function that can search my entire pdf for a string and if the string is there then change the value of the text box to another string, for example "Found." To be more specific, I wanted to check off buttons if three certain words are found through out my document. I believe I can handle the rest of the script if I can get some guidance on how to scan my doccument for a certrain string. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jun 28, 2020 Jun 28, 2020

I borrowed the following idea from Example 2 of the Adobe Acrobat SDK JavaScript API Reference, Doc methods, page 232

Running it as a button with  a mouse up action:

for (var p = 0; p < this.numPages; p++)
{
var numWords = this.getPageNumWords(p);
for (var i=0; i<numWords; i++) {

var ckWord = this.getPageNthWord(p, i, true);

if ( ckWord == "Acrobat") {this.getField("Text18").value = "Found"; }

else if (ckWord =="Not Acrobat") {this.getField("Text18").value = "Found"; }

else if (ckWord =="May

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Jun 28, 2020 Jun 28, 2020