Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Toggle appearance of button javascript

Community Beginner ,
Sep 09, 2020 Sep 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, 

First time poster! I've got a lot of experience in VBA but naff all in javascript.

Is it possible to toggle the visibility of a button on the click? I've tried event.target.display = display.hidden which works fine to hide it but I can't unhide it.

I've tried:

if(event.target.display = display.hidden){event.target.display = display.visible
} else {event.target.display = display.hidden}

but it doesn't work. 

I'm assuming this is possibly because the user can't actually click the button when it's hidden?

Is there any work around for this? For example, instead of the button being hidden, it could go to a transparent background when the file is open and then when it is clicked it reverts back to it's original state? When it is clicked again it goes back to being transparent?

Any help greatfully received!

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As you correctly said, a button that is hidden cannot be clicked on, so any script that you associate with this button. You would need another button or another form element that would restore the visibility of that button. 

In general, this is the script you would use:

this.getField("TheHiddenButton").display = display.visible;

But again, this has to come from outside of the button. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied