Validate entry equals equation using another field

New Here ,
Aug 23, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I want to verify that user's entry in a field ("Line41") equals "Line40 * .02" or is blank or zero.  Customer will get a discount of 2% if paid by a certain date, otherwise entry on Line 41 will be zero (blank is acceptable).  I don't want to use a straight calculation in "Line41" because not all customers will get the discount.

I'm using Adobe Acrobat DC.  I'm a novice to JavaScript with a little experience.  Your help is appreciated.

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by try67 | Most Valuable Participant

Use this code as the custom validation script of Line41:

var line40 = Number(this.getField("Line40").value);

var v = Number(event.value);

if (v!=0 && v!=(line40*0.2)) app.alert("Insert your warning message here.",1);

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript, Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Validate entry equals equation using another field

New Here ,
Aug 23, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I want to verify that user's entry in a field ("Line41") equals "Line40 * .02" or is blank or zero.  Customer will get a discount of 2% if paid by a certain date, otherwise entry on Line 41 will be zero (blank is acceptable).  I don't want to use a straight calculation in "Line41" because not all customers will get the discount.

I'm using Adobe Acrobat DC.  I'm a novice to JavaScript with a little experience.  Your help is appreciated.

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by try67 | Most Valuable Participant

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript, Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Aug 23, 2017 0
Most Valuable Participant ,
Aug 23, 2017

Copy link to clipboard