Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Value entered doesn't match the format

Participant ,
Oct 19, 2018 Oct 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good Afternoon,

First of all, when I've posted questions on coding JAVASCRIPT people have been amazing as I learn (I'm a novice).  I appreciate any and all feedback.  I have a form that I've been working on and so close to being finished with it.  I keep getting an error "the value entered doesn't match the format of the field".  I've tried but cannot not figure out how to resolve this issue.  The scenario involves a % issue.  I have 3 separate lines that have a % as a result for answer.  The results are considered:  Step 1 ("F7"), Step 2 ("F10") and Step 3 ("F13").  If Step 1 has a result that a percentage will appear.  If step 1 is not used then the answer will appear as 0%.  Same goes for Step 2 and Step 3.  Step 4 ("F14") and this is Step 1 + Step 2 + Step 3.  So, if the result was 1000% then the result would be 3000%.  Step 5 ("F15") is Step 4 / the number of steps is used.  So, if Step 1 is the only the divisor is 1, If Step 1 and Step 2 are used then the divisor is 2.  and If Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3 are used then the divisor is 3.  If no steps are used then the divisor is 0.  The other issue is if the percentage is greater than 100% then the result is 100%.  If if is less than 100% then the result is the average or 0.  Here is the code I've written so far which gives me a result but errors out as with the value entered doesn't match the format of the field.  F1000 will give a value of 1 if step 1 is used, F1001 will give a value of 1 if step 2 is used and F1002 will give a value of 1 if Step 3 is used.  F14 is the percentage values added up for Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3. 

var theField = this.getField("F1000");

var theValue = theField.value;

var theField2 = this.getField("F1001");

var theValue2 = theField2.value;

var theField3 = this.getField("F1002");

var theValue3 = theField3.value;