• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adding additional values to placeholder text?

Explorer ,
Mar 06, 2019 Mar 06, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to customize the text in the "placeholder" script for my fields. The script works great but would like to change the text color and size if possible. I have little to no experience with JavaScript. Can someone help me out? Thank you!

// Custom Format script for text field

if (!event.value) {

event.value = "Instructional text goes here";

event.target.display = display.noPrint;

} else {

event.target.display = display.visible;

}

TOPICS
PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 06, 2019 Mar 06, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

To set the font size:

event.target.textSize = 10;

To set the font color:

event.target.textColor = color.red;

The latter doesn't work with every color name, just some pre-defined ones. If you want a specific color you will need to use a more complex notation. For example, this will result in yellow text:

event.target.textColor = ["RGB", 1, 1, 0];

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Mar 07, 2019 Mar 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you this worked great but I have two issues.