Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Calculation resulting from checkbox selection in pdf

Explorer ,
Sep 23, 2017 Sep 23, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm probably way out of my league here, but here's what I need to happen:

I have a fillable pdf with several checkboxes that would result in an amount being added to a total field (Ex: Full page ad / Exhibitor fee is $500 / Non exhibitor fee is $750), so the user selects two items (or none). If they check "Full page ad" checkbox, then they select whether or not they are an exhibitor, then the amount ($500) would go to the total field = $500. And several more optional add choices, etc.

So, I guess my question(s) are:

If a checkbox is selected, can a number populate in a separate field? And if so, how?

I am a javascript beginner, have only completed the calculations that were simple.

Many thanks in advance for help/advice.

TOPICS
PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 23, 2017 Sep 23, 2017

Then use this:

event.value = 0;

if (this.getField("fullpageexhibitor").value!="Off") event.value=500;

else if (this.getField("fullpageadregular").value!="Off") event.value=700;

Votes

Translate

Translate
Participant ,
Dec 23, 2023 Dec 23, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There's a much easier way.  Create one check box ("CheckBox") then use right-click > Create Create Multiple Copies to create the rest of the fields (named "CheckBox.0" through "CheckBox.10").  Set the export values to the dollar amounts for each box.  In the Subtotal field, calculation tab, use "Value is the sum of" and select the field "CheckBox".  Done.  Here's a step by step guide with video:

https://pdfautomationstation.substack.com/p/create-a-check-box-scoring-questionnaire

Votes

Translate

Translate