Highlighted

Can I have a text field have a custom calculation AND still allow a user to enter custom content?

New Here ,
Jul 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! 

I've made a quotation form using Adobe acrobat form editor. 

I've set it up with four columns - product, quantity, cost per unit, and total cost. 

I've set up the fields so our sales team can select the product from a drop-down (options items) which automatically inserts the cost per unit that I inserted in the export value of the drop-down items.

This works really well - however, sometimes the cost per unit might need to be changed manually and I can't seem to figure out how to set the field to allow the user to enter custom text when needed. 

The script I'm using is:

event.value = this.getField('ProductRow1').value; 

I'm assuming I'll need to add something to this - but I'm no pro at Javascript and I'm not sure what! 

Thanks in advance!

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by try67 | Most Valuable Participant

Yes, it's possible, but it can get quite complicated, especially if the calculation depends on multiple fields, and they also have a calculated value. If it doesn't then you can use this:

if (event.source && event.source.name=="ProductRow1")

TOPICS
PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Can I have a text field have a custom calculation AND still allow a user to enter custom content?

New Here ,
Jul 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! 

I've made a quotation form using Adobe acrobat form editor. 

I've set it up with four columns - product, quantity, cost per unit, and total cost. 

I've set up the fields so our sales team can select the product from a drop-down (options items) which automatically inserts the cost per unit that I inserted in the export value of the drop-down items.