Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't edit fillable fields

Community Beginner ,
Nov 30, 2017 Nov 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good Afternoon,

I am trying to edit a PDF document that was converted to a fillable form but when I click on Edit PDF, it does not allow me to edit the boxes in blue below.  Does anyone else have this problem?  It only allows the bounding boxes on the left to be edited.  It does not open up the right.

Thank you, I am not an expert in adobe and any help will be much appreciated. 

TOPICS
General troubleshooting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 01, 2017 Dec 01, 2017

Are you filling in form fields, trying to modify a fillable form field, or editing page text?  

It sounds like you are trying to modify a form field. In this case you need to go to Form Preparation mode.  Select Prepare Form from the the main Tools listing.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Nov 30, 2017 Nov 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do not use "Edit a PDF" to fill forms.

When you select "Edit PDF" tools in Acrobat Pro it puts acrobat into content editing mode. This is for modifying the text and graphics on the page, not the form fields. 

Put Acrobat back into normal mode, i.e. where the hand is the main cursor.  Then when the hand passes over a fillable field it changes to an i-beam or arrow cursor.  Then you can click on the field to enter data.

Thom Parker - Software Developer at PDFScripting
Use the Acrobat JavaScript Reference early and often

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Dec 01, 2017 Dec 01, 2017