Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Combine six fields but sometimes the fields might be blank

New Here ,
Jan 25, 2021 Jan 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a novice at best.

I have a form with these separate fields crg1, crg2, crg3, crg4, crg5, crg6.  I have another field - charges.  I need to combine all of the crg fields separated by a ",".  I know how to do this with +", "+, but I can not figure out what to do if one of the crg fields are empty.  Crg1 will NEVER be empty, but there is no guarantee that the other crg fields will have a value. I've searched and searched, but all I can't figure this out.  Please help. 

TOPICS
JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One more thing.  I've scripted this with the +", "+ and let's say crg1, crg2, crg3 are filled but the rest are not - here is what I get.

"widget,  pony, ice cream sandwich, , , ". Those extra commas are killing me.  I'm sure there is a way to work this but I just can't find it. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try this as a "calculation script", in the Total field:

var strTotal = "";
for (var i=1; i<7; i++) {
if (this.getField("crg"+i).value.toString().length > 0) {
strTotal = strTotal + this.getField("crg"+i).value.toString() + ",";
}
}
event.target.value = strTotal;

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use this:

var strTotal = "";
for (var i=1; i<7; i++) {
  var val = this.getField("crg"+i).valueAsString;
  if (val != "") {