Highlighted

Dynamic text from a drop-down list does not update.

Community Beginner ,
Aug 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First of all forgive my English, it is not my native language. I'm having a problem with automatically filling out a form field from a drop-down list.

I have a drop-down list named "Options" and form fields named "name", "age" and "text".

I would like that from the option chosen in my drop-down list the name form field "text" would be filled with a predefined text using the values ​​contained in the fields "name" and "age".

I managed to do this, however when I replace the values ​​in the "name" and "age" fields and change the option in my drop-down list, the text in the "text" field is not updated and always uses the information from the previous choice.

I am not a programmer, just a curious person trying to improve processes in my job. Here's the step-by-step of what I did:

1st. I formatted the drop-down list so that when no option is selected, the "text" field is blank.

if( event.willCommit ) { 
    if(event.value == "") this.resetForm(["text"]); else 
textscript(event.value); 
}

2nd. I created a script so that when I make a choice from the drop-down list, the "text" field is filled with the script's information.

// Placing all pre-population data in a single data structure 
var textscripting = { "Option 1":{ story: "The funny " + this.getField("name").value + ", " + this.getField("age").value + ", was at Mom's house."},
"Option 2":{ story: "Mischievous " + this.getField("name").value + ", " + this.getField("age").value + ", went to Grandma's."},
"Option 3":{ story: "Ricky " + this.getField("name").value + ", " + this.getField("age").value + ", went to Daddy's house."},

}; 
function textscript(cCharactherName) { 
    // Filling in fields with values ​​of the previously defined objects 
    this.getField("text").value = textscripting[cCharactherName].story; 

}