Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Editing text in all PDF files

Community Beginner ,
Aug 16, 2011 Aug 16, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am very new to Acrobat and am trying to change some text in some of my documents, but can't seem to be able to do so. I am using Acrobat X Pro and i use the "Edit Document Text" tool, but the cursor does not change to the text editing cursor. I tried opening other PDF documents and it seems that I am able to edit text in some PDF files, but not the text in others. For the one that I am trying to edit, I did the "Recognize Text" function. I can high-light the text and even search the document for certain words, but can't seem to change any of the text. I can select the text to cross out or put a comment in them, but still can't remove some words/letters & retype.

This is really frustrating, as these documents are the only reason I wanted Acrobat X - so I can edit a few words on them.

Please help!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Aug 17, 2011 Aug 17, 2011

Unfortunately, it's hidden by default in Acrobat 10. To get to Preflight, click Tools and then you'll see a very small icon/button at the upper right corner of the panel. Click it and select "Print Production" from the drop-down. The Print Production panel will open and you can select Preflight. With the document opened, select the "Embed fonts" from the "PDF fixups" list and click the "Analyse and fix" button at the lower right.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use the text touchup tool. Do not expect great or even good results. There is an art to editing PDFs and it is not recommended. You should always go back to the original document, edit it, and create a new PDF if at all possible.

Votes

Translate