• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Form JavaScript to add text value after drop-down selection

New Here ,
Mar 03, 2021 Mar 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm new to this and need help with a form in Adobe Acrobat Pro DC. 

I created a nomination form where a user can choose an award from a drop-down list named "Type of Award". When a user selects an award, I would like text to populate in text field "Criteria". 
I tried JavaScript examples from other threads and YouTube with no luck. 
Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

TOPICS
Create PDFs , JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

- What text? The same one as selected in the drop-down, or something else?

- Should this text be editable by the user, or should it only be determined by the selection in the drop-down?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for the fast reply.

New text that can be edited by the user.

The drop down list "Type of Awards" will have a few options (Service Award, Achievment medal, etc). When a user selects an option, I am hoping text will populate in a text field showing the user what's required for the selected award that can be editable. 

If user selects 'Service Award' then text will populate "Describe achievement in 300 characters or less. I'd like to recognize my employee because..."

The user can choose to overwrite completely or add to it.