• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I learn about PDF for book printing ?

Community Beginner ,
Mar 23, 2021 Mar 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi and thanks in advance.
I now have Acrobat Pro DC (new user, just signed up a few days ago), running on a Mac with the latest OS. 
I have been making books for 20 years. I make the PDF files for the cover and interior pages, and then send them to the printing company, and (usually) everything works.

But now I want to do more than push some buttions.
Now I want a deeper understanding of PDF files, in connection with printing paper books.
Does anyone know some resources for getting a deeper understanding about PDF and book printing ?
If there is a book on this subject, I will be happy to buy it.
Thanks again,
Zorba

TOPICS
Create PDFs , Edit and convert PDFs , Print and prepress

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Wow, that's a pretty big subject. Are you interested in learning more about prepress? That would include things like imposition, bleed, creep, trapping... And the prepress needs will depend upon the type of book and printing equipment used. I'd recommend the courses by Claudia McCue: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/instructors/claudia-mccue. Hers aren't specifically to paper books, but printing in general. But I know no one more versed in educating people about the printing process. She is a master.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Zorba,