Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PDF 2 text fields must be filled in for the comments section to be readable

New Here ,
Sep 02, 2020 Sep 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am extremely new to JavaScript.
I have 2 different text fields named, item and quantity. I want those 2 fields to be filled out in order to be able to fill out the comments field.

I know I need an if statement. I don't know where it is supposed to go. I tried putting it in the custom calculations script, but I'm not even sure if that's right. I know the script is not even right.  If someone could help me out I would greatly appreciate it. But could you also explain the answer in detail.

Also is read only the only way you can deactivate/disable a field. Is there a way to make it so you cannot click in the field?

if (event.value=="" && this.getField("Quantity").value="";)
this.getField("Comments").readonly = false;
else
this.getField("Comments").readonly = truse;

TOPICS
PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 02, 2020 Sep 02, 2020

Yes, but it's not different from the other code... However, you should be using valueAsString instead of value.

Try this:

if (this.getField("Item Code").valueAsString.length > 0 && this.getField("Quantity").valueAsString.length > 0) {
event.target.readonly = false;
} else {
event.target.readonly = true;
}

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You have several errors in the code. Also, I would move the code to the custom calculation script of the Comments field. It can be something like this:

if (this.getField("Item").valueAsString=="" || this.getField("Quantity").valueAsString="") {
	event.value = "";
} else {
}