• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Preflight convert fonts to outlines not working

New Here ,
Sep 22, 2020 Sep 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm a graphic designer working in medical communications/science publishing. Clients often send us figures output directly from their graphing software as PDFs where datapoints are formatted as text bullets instead of outlined shapes.

When I open the PDFs in Illustrator, these datapoints are usually in Myriad Pro and, even though I have Myriad Pro activated, the bullets don't display and I have to switch to Arial or similar. This changes the actual size of the bullets, which changes the numerical positioning of the point on the x/y axes of the figure.  

While it isn't a huge problem if all the datapoints use the same font size--I can eyeball it and resize/nudge them all uniformly to match the PDF--it is a problem when each circle bullet is sized proportionately with the data. While I can switch to Arial, convert type to outlines, and transform each, I'm not confident that this preserves the proportionate areas of each circle while also preserving their x/y position. 

Unfortunately, when I try to use Acrobat Pro DC > Preflight > Convert fonts to outlines, only the font that was already in Arial is outlined, and the bullets are still Myriad Pro text that doesn't display in Illustrator.

Any tips for working around this issue would be greatly appreciated. I have learned most of what I know on the job so I'm sure I'm missing something, but haven't found any answers by googling... I also recognize this may be more of an Illustrator issue, but I would like to first check if there's something I can do to the PDFs I receive from clients in Acrobat that will fix the problem.

TOPICS
Edit and convert PDFs , General troubleshooting , Print and prepress

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines