Pro DC opens PDFs after making Reader DC default app

New Here ,
Apr 03, 2021 Apr 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I have a user who recently subscribed to Acrobat Pro DC.  She is a bookkeeper who processes many PDF invoices, but she also needs to be able to edit PDFs. 

After installing Pro DC, there are some PDFs that will not print for her in Pro DC but WILL print for her in Reader DC.  As such, she wishes to make Reader DC the default PDF handler, and we tried setting this both in the Pro DC app, the Reader DC app, and in the Windows PDF Properties dialog.  However, every time she opens a PDF, it still opens in Pro DC.

Any ideas as to why this is occurring or how to force Reader DC to open PDFs without uninstalling Pro DC?

Thanks,

Lee

TOPICS
General troubleshooting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct Answer

Adobe Employee , Apr 05, 2021 Apr 05, 2021
There is no good reason for having both Reader and Acrobat installed in parallel since Acrobat is a superset of  Reader. (Newer versions in the future will likely disable that ability to have such parallel installations!) A number of problems in the past have been traced to such parallel installations, either of the same or of different base versions of Acrobat. Reader and Acrobat both use the same print routines albeit with Reader's print features not being as extensive as those of Acrobat ...

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,
Apr 04, 2021 Apr 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Lee,

Hope you are doing well and sorry for the trouble. As described the, Pro DC opens the PDF after making the Reader DC as the default application.