• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Textfield Date validation, disable future dates input

New Here ,
Feb 23, 2017 Feb 23, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm creating a form on Acrobat X Pro and I'm trying to restrict the user from entering future dates in a textfield with the date format. Basically the date has to be today's date or prior. I'm a newbie to Acrobat form scripting, so I was wondering how to go about this.

Preferably, I would want to initiate this on field exit if possible, but if not then do it on form submit validation / both. I assume I would have to use a compare operator against the current date such as 'var CurrentDate = new Date();' but I need to know how to associate with the field's value and if any conversion is required, moreover how to initiate this on the exit event.

Additionally, I have a 3 part date field which needs to be validated. It's split with one field for Month, one for Day and one for Year. Is it possible to combine the 3 fields and validate the date for future dates ?

Appreciate any insight on this. Thanks!

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 24, 2017 Feb 24, 2017

Sure, it's quite easy to use. Here's an example:

var dateString = "24/02/2017";

var dateObject = util.scand("dd/mm/yyyy", dateString);

app.alert(dateObject.getTime());

The output is the number of seconds that represent this date (counting from the epoch point, 01/01/1970). This allows you to compare two dates, since its just a number.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Feb 24, 2017 Feb 24, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied