• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

The value entered does not match the format of the field

New Here ,
Mar 23, 2021 Mar 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please help! I am fairly new with using adobe and creating javascript equations. I have run into the error that many new user have, the dreaded "The value entered does not match the format of the field" pop-up. This only occurs when the value answer is 0... 

I am creating a till balance form for a retail company, so having that 0 value show is important and fairly frequent, as you want the till to show 0 variance. 

Indi5FC6_0-1616531705708.png

Here are the columns Cash(Counted) = AMCash
Cash on Shift Report = AMPOSCash 

For the Cash +/- I have a Simplified Field Notation set as AMCash-AMPOSCash 
The format is Number to the second decimal point, which I need since we are talking money.
It does the math just fine, but I meet an error when the total is 0 for that column. 

I have spent so long on trying to get this to function properly. Please help me if you can!!! Thank you! 

TOPICS
Create PDFs , Edit and convert PDFs , General troubleshooting , JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 25, 2021 Mar 25, 2021

OK, now that you've (finally) provided a concrete example I was able to reproduce it.

This is happening due to a rounding issue. The value of "AMCash" is not really 91.58, but 91.58000000000001. And when you subtract 91.58 from that you get this value in "AM Cash Variance": 1.4210854715202004e-14

This value can't be shown by the Number format, which causes the error. You would have seen all of this if you had just removed the Number format from your fields.

Anyway, the solution is to round the r

Votes

Translate

Translate