Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Updating a variable suffix

Community Beginner ,
Mar 24, 2021 Mar 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I’m completely new to the world of Javascript but muddling through putting together a pdf form. This forum has been a massive help and got me almost to the a finished form. I’ve hit a bit of a wall though and unable to find the solution so far. I hope someone can help.

The form has a dropdown field:  Metre_Feet_display

with 2 options - Feet or Metres & commit selected value immediately is checked.

The form also has a number field: veRow1_3

I want to display either “ ft” or “ m” as a suffix to veRow1_3 based on the value of Metre_Feet_display

I have entered this code in the custom format script:

if (event.value) event.value = event.value +(this.getField("Metre_Feet_display").valueAsString);

This works when I enter a number in veRow1_3 and tab out of it. But If there's already a number entered, and I change Feet to Metres in the dropdown, it doesn’t update. I’ve tried variations of my code using .target.value but to no avail so far.

As an aside, I’m also using Metre_Feet_display value to determine a factor for use in a calculation that also uses the value of veRow1_3. This calculation doesn’t update either until I’ve updated/revised veRow1_3 value. I suspect if I can resolve the suffix issue, I can figure out the latter issue.

What am I doing wrong? TIA

TOPICS
PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 24, 2021 Mar 24, 2021

Needed to declare variables as number and also there was delay in field calculation order. try now:

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=1rExcGToyeQNp-kBaA3cvU-HyBQU74kUO 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied