• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Copyright infringment

New Here ,
Mar 01, 2023 Mar 01, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey, I wonder if anyone can help with this. 

I have an adobe CC subscription. I used a font on my website which is included in that subscription, but I've been contacted by the creator of the font saying that I've infringed on the copyright by self-hosting it on my portfolio site. 

I don't even remember how I got the font working on there, as I'm not a web designer, and just hacked my site together to get it working. 

Now they're asking for $100 because I self-hosted the font instead of linking directly to adobe. 

This just seems a bit mad. I know the law is the law, but I get about 10 visitors a month to my site, and I've now changed the font. Like I say I can't even remember how I got it to work in the first place. 

Does anyone have any advice? Should I push back, or just give in and pay?

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 01, 2023 Mar 01, 2023

It is absolutely forbidden to self-host fonts from an Adobe subscription, even if you cleverly hack it. You MUST buy a font license if you self host it, or use the Adobe Font in the approved way by reference to Adobe's servers.  You have no grounds to push back, be happy the fine is so small.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Mar 01, 2023 Mar 01, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It is absolutely forbidden to self-host fonts from an Adobe subscription, even if you cleverly hack it. You MUST buy a font license if you self host it, or use the Adobe Font in the approved way by reference to Adobe's servers.  You have no grounds to push back, be happy the fine is so small.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines