Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Add a new text field to an existing component

New Here ,
Nov 29, 2019 Nov 29, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to adobe xd and already loving it! However, I came across this issue and been struggling to resolve it myself with no luck. Here's what's happening...

I've created a component which has one text element and a box and I've created dozens of instances using this. I realised I need to add another text field to the component and I decided to edit the master component and type some text. However this doesn't get added to the existing component. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated. 

PS: In the screenshot below, I need the value text field to be part of the text input component but I'm not allowed to move it and group with the rest of the component items.

Screenshot 2019-11-29 at 14.31.30.png

TOPICS
How to , Missing feature

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 29, 2019 Nov 29, 2019

Double-click on the component to put it into edit mode. Select the Text tool and click in the component and type the text. This will get added to the component. If you add it to the default state, it will appear in all of the states but if you add it to another state, it will only appear in that state. The mistake most people make is that after double clicking on the component to put it into edit mode, they'll click off of it effectively deselecting the component and then whatever you add will n

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Here is reference to component help https://helpx.adobe.com/xd/help/components.html 

Here is a guide to edit master component

Edit a master component