Highlighted

[Design]-Provide a Master Artboard in XD.

Community Beginner ,
Jan 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For elements that are applicable on all artboards provide a "stand alone" Master Artboard like Powerpoint.

<The Title was renamed by moderator>

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Peter Villevoye | Adobe Community Professional

I have 30+ years experience with Master Pages in tools like PageMaker, XPressInDesign, PowerPoint, and Keynote, but I'd not endorse this kind of feature in software like Adobe XD, for these three reasons:

1. Adobe XD caters for web and app design – not for static formats like print media or presentation sheets. This requires different approaches for elements at fluent positions (e.g. below the viewport) and responsiveness.
  2. There are much better solutions than copy/paste to deal with repetitive content – try Components ! These offer many advantages over having a Master Page and can be locally edited and centrally managed.
  3. Adobe XD is not about doing a lot of production work, but designing different ideas. So you probably need less similar designs...

The only aspect which I'd like to be 'mastered' and which cannot be handled by a Component, is the background color of the artboard. But then again, there's no setting for that in InDesign either. In both environments I'd need to use some element to carry that color across multiple designs (like a rectangle on the Master Page in InDesign or a Component in Adobe XD)...

TOPICS
Design, Missing feature

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

[Design]-Provide a Master Artboard in XD.

Community Beginner ,
Jan 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For elements that are applicable on all artboards provide a "stand alone" Master Artboard like Powerpoint.

<The Title was renamed by moderator>

Adobe Community Professional